Mooncrest

Rank

Commodore

Commodore

Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:19 pm

MIB Tyngbraneth, Miner's Paradise

Keeping Existing Players

Postby Mooncrest » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:27 pm

I have been playing for nearly 30 months now. What has been apparent to me for some time is that we seem to have difficulty in keeping players. I know that there has always been and will always be a drive to get new players, but unless we can keep players playing the game is not going to grow. I know that most players expect MMO games to be combat oriented with, or without PvP, that the combat element of Ascent is pretty basic and this will be a disappointment to a lot of new players. I think that giving the ships in the game Type Names associated with combat vessels was misleading. However, there must be quite a few players who would stay, if not for the fact that a lot of things do not work quite as expected. There is an “unfinished” feel to some of the game mechanics. I realise that the game, itself, will never be “finished”: there is so much content that the developer and players would like to add to the game, but what content is already in the game does need to have that “its done and ready” feel to it. There are at least two major areas of the game that, as far as I am concerned, are not quite “ready”: Trading and NPC Pilots. I think that fixing these two areas soon, would greatly improve the prospects of keeping, not only new players, but some veteran players, who are becoming disillusioned as well.

Trading
There are three elements to Trading in the game: NPC Station Local Market and Contract Boards, Galactic Market and Player Stock Market. Of these the Player Stock Market is probably the most unfinished. Though the other elements do need small tweaks.

Player Stock Market